Secondary Navigation

UHP Home

Telephone: 612-624-5522
Fax: 612-626-7314

MonFri, 8 am–4:30 pm
84 Church Street SE, Suite 390
Minneapolis, MN 55455

Latest News & Student Profiles

2012-2013 Katherine E. Sullivan Scholars Announced

June 14, 2012

Two University of Minnesota students, Sara Butterfass and Brian Eby, have been named Katherine E. Sullivan Scholars for 2012-13. The Sullivan Scholarship is the University's most prestigious scholarship for study abroad, supporting a fifth year of undergraduate study in another country for one or more outstanding seniors from any campus of the U of M.

Sara Butterfass is a senior at the University of Minnesota-Morris, with a major in English and a minor in History. As a Katherine E. Sullivan Scholar, she will study Icelandic language and literature at the University of Iceland in Reykjavik for the 2012-13 academic year. She looks forward to gaining insight into the history of the medieval Icelandic sagas by visiting historic sites and working with medieval manuscripts. Her long-term goal is to pursue a Ph.D. in medieval studies. Sara is from Howard Lake, MN and is a graduate of Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted High School.

Brian Eby, a senior in the College of Biological Sciences and the University Honors Program at the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities, is majoring in genetics, cell biology & development and minoring in chemistry. He will spend the 2012-13 year on the IES Abroad Program in Freiburg, Germany. Brian will take courses in advanced German language, history, culture, and economics. An aspiring physician who intends to enter medical school in the future, Brian would also like to volunteer in a German hospital during his year abroad as a Katherine E. Sullivan Scholar, in order to learn about Germany's healthcare system. Brian is from Oregon, WI and graduated from Oregon High School.

Congratulations, Sara and Brian!