Marshall Scholarship

For one to two years of study at any British university, leading to a graduate degree or two one-year graduate degrees in any field. Extension for a third year is possible. Applicants must be U.S. citizens. Selection criteria include exceptionally strong academics (minimum GPA of 3.7, leadership, and the potential to be an outstanding citizen ambassador to the UK. Must have an undergraduate degree in hand by the beginning of the award period. Applicants may not be more than two years beyond graduation, and may have begun graduate study. Scholarship includes tuition and fees plus allowances for living, books, and travel to and from the UK (approximate value: 23,000 GBP per year). Up to 40 scholarships nationwide. Institutional endorsement is required. Applicants wishing to begin graduate study in the fall immediately following graduation should submit a preliminary application in the spring of their JUNIOR year; applicants who intend to take a year off before beginning graduate study should submit a preliminary application in the spring of their SENIOR year. Recent GRADUATES should also apply by the preliminary application deadline.

This scholarship requires a nomination from the University of Minnesota in order to apply at the national or international level. The Office for National and International Scholarships organizes the nomination process, consults with all interested students on assembling competitive applications, works with nominees to prepare for all stages of national competition, and publicizes results.

Application Deadline
April 1, 2022 (campus); September 28, 2022 (national)
Application Year(s)
Junior; Senior; After Graduation
Award Type(s)
Graduate; Abroad Experience

University of MN Recipients

  • 2013 – Martin Chorzempa, Finance (alternate)
  • 2007 – Katie N. Lee, Biochemistry & Chemistry (declined for Rhodes)
  • 2005 – Maya Babu, Neuroscience & Psychology (alternate)
  • 2000 – Letisha Y. Morgan, Cultural Studies & Comparative Literature (Ph.D., Warwick, 2005)
  • 1983 – Susan Hough, Mechanical Engineering (Ph.D., Southampton, 1988)
  • 1980 – Annamarie Daley, Political Science & Agricultural Business Administration (Pg.Dip., Reading, 1981)
  • 1964 – Janna Thompson, Philosophy (B.Phil., Oxford, 1966)