Rhodes Scholarship

For two years of study at Oxford University leading to a graduate or, in certain cases, a second undergraduate degree in any field. American Rhodes applicants must be U.S. citizens, age 18-23 on October 1 in the year of application; must hold bachelor's degree by the beginning of the award; may have begun graduate work. (For a list of other Rhodes-eligible countries of citizenship, see the non-U.S. citizen's page at the Rhodes website.  ONIS is available to support international applicants.) Selection criteria include proven intellectual and academic achievement; integrity of character; interest in and respect for one's fellow human beings; the ability to lead; and the energy to use one's talents to the full. GPA of 3.8 or higher is generally expected. 32 scholarships are awarded to Americans annually. Institutional endorsement is required. Applicants wishing to begin graduate study in the fall immediately following graduation should submit a preliminary application in the spring of their JUNIOR year; applicants who intend to take a year off before beginning graduate study should submit a preliminary application in the spring of their SENIOR year. GRADUATES should also apply by the preliminary application Deadline.

This scholarship requires a nomination from the University of Minnesota in order to apply at the national or international level. The Office for National and International Scholarships organizes the nomination process, consults with all interested students on assembling competitive applications, works with nominees to prepare for all stages of national competition, and publicizes results.

Application Deadline
April 1, 2023 (campus); October 4, 2023 (national)
Application Year(s)
Junior; Senior; After Graduation
Award Type(s)
Graduate; Abroad Experience; Open to international students

University of MN Recipients

  • 2009 – Ashley Lynne Nord, Global Studies, Physics, and Astrophysics
  • 2007 – Katie N. Lee, Biochemistry and Chemistry
  • 2006 – Diana Fu, Global Studies and Political Science [Canada]
  • 2003 – David Simon, Political Science, Global Studies, and Russian Area Studies
  • 2001 – Molly Zahn, Religious Studies
  • 1977 – Clay Jenkinson, English
  • 1971 – Perry J. Blackshear
  • 1966 – R. Walter Bachman, Jr.
  • 1954 – Thomas Clayton
  • 1952 – Richard Fink
  • 1949 – Robert L. Johnston
  • 1935 – Sherman L. Pease
  • 1934 – Hedley Donovan
  • 1931 – Austin Faricy
  • 1930 – Leland A. Watson
  • 1929 – Frederick L. Hovde
  • 1925 – Franklin D. Gray
  • 1924 – Otis H. Lee
  • 1919 – Herbert E. Clefton
  • 1918 – Raymond W. Anderson
  • 1916 – Frederick G. Tryon
  • 1914 – Stanley I. Rypins
  • 1913 – Henry V. Bruchholz
  • 1908 – Lucius A. Frye
  • 1905 – Henry S. Mitchell